Rhonda/Ron the Rule Whore

Screen shot 2013-07-17 at 11.11.54 PMIn my industry I have on multiple occasions encountered “Rhonda (or Ron) the Rule Whore.” We all know who Rhonda/Ron is. She or he is that special co-worker that is a slave to the rules and makes sure that you are shackled to them too. Rhonda the Rule Whore tends to focus solely on maintaining records, upholding the holy corporate bible, and is quick to snatch up any opportunity to tattle on you in the quest of upholding the holy name of the company you sweat and bleed for. This co worker is your snake in the grass. The other tricky thing about Rhonda the Rule Whore is you tend to not even know her capabilities because she upholds and willing screws others due to her (or his) twisted sense of loyalty to the company; it‘s never personal. She is truly difficult to detect. I worked with a few Rhonda’s in the past but was most recently burned later in my career and would have to admit this is one lesson freshly scorched into my commandments.

I worked with someone recently who I regarded in a very positive manner. This person was kind, honest, fun, and I felt comfortable sharing with them personal details of my life. A few years later this person and I came up for promotion; the latter receiving theirs first. The irony of this being that my manager and I had discussed in detail how perfect this person would be for another position if I was to be promoted immediately. In my good nature, I affirmed her qualifications for the job she was recommended for. I think back now on how naive and pivotal I was in placing Rhonda the Rule Whore into a position of power.

After waiting years to receive my recognition, I had difficulty at first accepting Rhonda the Rule Whore’s immediate promotion but swallowed the corporate bullshit with a smile and faith that my promotion was right around the corner. Rhonda’s true nature wasn’t obvious at first but shortly after her promotion it emerged. One day I made the mistake of getting my work schedule crossed. I arrived on a Thursday at 12:30 p.m. and after arriving looked at the schedule to then ascertain I was supposed to be there at 12:00 p.m.. Laughing this off, I confided to Rhonda the Rule Whore, in a comical manner, my mistake. Rhonda the Rule Whore and I laughed and before I left that day my manager presented me with a record to sign. This was not abnormal. I grabbed a pen only to look and see that Rhonda the Rule Whore had written me up for my honest mistake. Angry, but vowing to watch my step better I signed the damn log and had one eye on Rhonda the Rule Whore from then on.

Over the next few months it got progressively worse. I was constantly feeling as though I had one eye on me at all times. I then made the grievous mistake of taking to Facebook (not my proudest moment) in a fit of rage with work one day and writing something that ultimately cost me my career and something I still regret. However, hiding in the Facebook grass was the office snake who I’m convinced..if not admitted to, was the one who pointed my manager in my direction and made known this indiscretion. Tsk, tsk, tsk..

Lesson number 351 – Rhonda (or Ron) the Rule Whore can be easily identified if you know what to look for. Look for the one who is more concerned with policy and procedures, less concerned about the morale of the whole office, and very concerned about what you should and shouldn’t be doing. Never, ever accept them as friends or acquaintances on social media. I can’t stress this enough! As a matter of fact, block them at all cost! That way if you are caught up in an indiscretion they will have no knowledge of it unless notified by another. On a greater scale..block all of your co-workers. That’s what they are, co-workers, and if they can scramble over you to get higher on the ladder they will. And when they do, they will give you a precise kick to the head wearing those pristine high heels or fabulous wing tips and will knock you completely off the ladder, falling fast to the hard ass asphalt of your disgrace below.

Leave a Reply

